Mushroom Saag

I really like spinach.  Especially in any sort of creamed form.  Saag (or Palak) is pretty much creamed spinach, but with a whole heck of indian spices added!

As much as I love Saag Paneer, the right cheese doesn’t exist in Chile.  I’ve tried to make paneer a few times, but it just doesn’t taste right.  Maybe it has something to do with the milk here (long-life UHT only!).  So when I make saag now, I usually put mushrooms in – it’s not as good as indian cheese, but it still rounds out the flavor nicely.

One more thing about making saag in Chile – I know that typically it’s made with spinach and mustard greens, but I haven’t been able to find mustard greens.  I guess it shouldn’t be to hard to find normally, but whenever I ask for “lechuga de mostaza” at the farmer’s market, the old ladies look at my like I’m absolutely bonkers.

That said, this tastes as close to the real thing as I’ve ever been able to make!

Mushroom Saag

Serves 4
1 ½ lb fresh spinach
1/4 lb mushrooms, sliced
2 T ghee
salt to taste
1 small yellow onion, chopped
3 teaspoons garam masala
¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 tablespoon tomato paste
1 c whole milk/cream

  • Rinse the spinach thoroughly and drip dry (it doesn’t have to be super dry)
  • Place the spinach in a microwave-safe bowl, put a cover (plate) over it, and microwave for 4 minutes.  Stir the spinach around a bit, and then microwave for 4 more minutes.
  • Squeeze as much water as you can out of the spinach, chop it finely, and set aside.
  • Sautée the mushrooms in a small pan (save for later)
  • Put the ghee in a large pan over medium-high heat, and add the onions
  • When the onions are translucent, add the garam masala and stir around for a minute
  • Add the tomato paste and cayenne pepper to the onions, stir for a few minutes
  • Add the spinach to the onion/tomato mixture, stir
  • Add the sautéed mushrooms
  • Add milk till you reach a desired consistency
  • Salt to taste!

Leave a comment